top of page

dwi pROCESS

Follow this fun little info-graphic for some guidance on what to expect.

We've also outlined the process in more detail below.

Don't hesitate to contact us with any questions - we're happy to help you map out the next steps!

Infographic so you caught a DWI related charge, what now? By Megan Thomas Silver Lining Therapy

Step 1: substance abuse Assessment

 

  • Only approved providers can conduct DWI assessments for the State of North Carolina.  A certified or licensed clinical addictions specialist should be the one conducting your assessment.

  • All NC DWI Providers charge at minimum $100 for an assessment plus a $13.75 DMV fee to pull your motor vehicle record.

  • Assessment tools and times differ between service providers.  We use the ASI-MV, an electronic assessment that allows for increased accuracy and the benefit of taking the first part from home!  The remaining paperwork takes about an hour during the online telehealth appointment.

  • Generally, you'll receive a treatment recommendation on the same day of your assessment.  Corresponding treatment hours will be assigned by the clinician overseeing your assessment.

DID YOU KNOW: In North Carolina, your license is automatically revoked for 30 days following your arrest.  However, on the 11th day of this revocation, you can apply for a limited license to drive to and from work and other approved obligations.

Step 2:  Treatment recommendation

Based on the outcome of your Substance Abuse Assessment, you'll receive a recommendation for the appropriate amount of treatment to rectify your case. Per NC statutes, treatment must be started no more than 6 months after your assessment!

There are various "levels" of services available:

  • ADETS (Alcohol & Drug Education Traffic School) is a prevention oriented program geared toward those who do not otherwise meet criteria for substance use disorders.  Additional qualifications must be met, including BAC .14 or below; no refusal, no prior convictions.  ADETS is a 16-hour course taken over several days.  Provider offerings vary, but our program runs evening and weekend hours for your convenience.  The cost to enroll in ADETS is $185 (including $25 workbook).

  • SHORT TERM (group therapy) includes assigned treatment from 20-39 hours.  Cannot be completed in less than 30 days.    

  • LONG TERM (group therapy) includes assigned treatment from 40-89 hours. Cannot be completed in less than 60 days.  

  • IOP (Intensive Outpatient) is a level of service that Silver Lining Therapy does not offer and is for substance use interventions that require more intensity and structure.  IOP requires at least 90 hours of treatment over the course of weeks to months.  If it is determined at your assessment that this kind of treatment might be beneficial, we will work closely with you to refer for this service.

  • INPATIENT treatment is a level of service that Silver Lining Therapy does not offer and is for substance use interventions that cannot be adequately addressed in an outpatient setting.  Inpatient treatment is generally for 30-90 days depending on circumstances.  If it is determined at your assessment that this kind of treatment might be beneficial, we will work closely with you to refer for this service.

Step 3:  Treatment completion

  • Treatment is completed by logging hours in attendance at groups offered by your chosen DWI Provider. 

  • You can transfer your treatment to any provider at any time without penalty or fees!

  • Remember that treatment must be started no later than 6 months following your Substance Abuse Assessment.  You may have to pay for a second assessment fee if you don't begin treatment within this window...

  • Providers set their own price/schedule for group services.

  • Don't forget that NC requires the minimum treatment duration time for completing Short/Long Term hours - 30/60 days respectively.

  • You should expect to attend, on average, one group/week.  Scheduling is a very important part of this process, so try to find group offerings that meet your needs!

 

NOTE:  People often choose to complete treatment prior to a conviction for several reasons:

  1.  To get a jump-start on the inevitable in order to reinstate their license.

  2.  At the urging of their lawyer to earn good favor.

  3.  They sense they may actually benefit from certain lifestyle changes and are actually eager to see what they might learn.

step 4: File e-508

  • The final step is the easiest!  Once you've completed treatment and closed out your case, a form called the E-508 will need to be submitted by the provider who is signing off on your treatment.

  • A designated approved staff member will take your information and conduct  a brief satisfaction survey in order to process the E-508 on your behalf.  

  • Once the E-508 is submitted, it can take up to 5 business days for the State to process it - after which you will be able to apply with the DMV to reinstate your license!

bottom of page